It’s Not Greek to Me

Well I took all your advice and gave Greek yogurt another try. This time I made sure to choose a flavor (vanilla) and mix in some toppings (granola and chocolate chips).

CIMG2789-be
The verdict? …still not a fan. I didn’t even lick the container clean like I normally do with non-greek yogurts! So friends, I suppose this is a blog where you won’t be seeing any(more) Oikos or Chobani.

You will see some Luna though! After my socks being knocked off from the WCM, I felt compelled to try another flavor.

CIMG2798
This bar was a buy-again, but ranked #2 to the WCM. Still, I have restored faith in Luna bars! Amen.

This past week, I made a really great and fresh tasting wrap for dinner–twice in a row!

CIMG2800

CIMG2819

Chicken, raisins, nuts, raspberry dressing and a whole lotta spinach. Basically a salad in a wrap. Yum.

Alright, you all know how much I love my breakfast. I love it so much, I ate it for lunch and dinner this week too.

For my brinner (Scrubs reference ;-)), I made a scrambled egg + egg whites with TJ’s French Toast smothered in syrup.

CIMG2792

I snatched up the boxed toast because I actually don’t keep slices of bread in my apartment. I have wraps, bagels and buns…but no loaves. This pre-made french toast means I don’t need to experiment with french toast bagels…yet!

For my brinner dessert, I had the perfect sweet in mind.

CIMG2761

A Boston Cream Oreo Cookie Holey Donut. Yep, this one’s my favorite. There really was no doubt that it would be. Cream? Gooood. Oreo Cookie? Gooood. I also really like Boston, but I don’t think the city has any effect on the flavor.

My breakfast lunch happened today. I woke up and ate a PB sammie to fuel a morning workout. After I cleaned myself up, I realized all I wanted was cereal. So, I made myself a huge bowl of Kashi H2H and a banana yogurt parfait. The parfait was almost as good as froyo. Almost.

CIMG2821

Still gotta get my fix with the real thing.

CIMG2820-be

I receive daily quotes in my email each night because I’m a dork always looking for inspiration. I thought you all would like the one I received tonight:

“Power is being aware of what one is choosing to do, feeling
free to do it, and doing it intentionally. Power is freedom
to choose with awareness and to involve ourselves in health
promoting and other activities. Power is how we participate
in creating our reality.”
— Dr. Gerald Epstein

Many people recognize the power they have in their careers,
their successes, and their relationships.

Yet when it comes to their health, they feel powerless. They
can take medicine, eat right, and exercise, but they think
their health is out of their control.

The truth: Your health is the one thing over which you have
the utmost control.

Happy 4th everyone! Stay safe and enjoy the fireworks! I’ll be missing my dad’s BBQ for sure. What’s your favorite July 4th treat?

25 responses to “It’s Not Greek to Me

  1. Loved the quote! It’s definetley important to remember that we are in control of our own health and well being, which is reassuring in a world that seems pretty out of control most of the time.

    p.s that holey donut looks indeed looks holy, heavenly even. yummers.

  2. That Holey Donut…oh man. It looks beyond amazing!

    And I loooove soft serve froyo! <3

  3. your cereal parfait sounds mighty fine.!!

    I loved your quote!! definatly inspriational. I am actually going to share it with my mom. I know it will make her smile, too :)
    xox
    http://www.melonshots.blogspot.com

  4. I have also discovered how good Luna bars actually are! For some reason, WCW aside, I thought I hated them. Crazy talk :P Love the SCRUBS reference- I could watch that 24/7…I have a bunch of clips downloaded onto my iPod. good stuff :)

    Enjoy your 4th!

  5. It took me a while to get used to the taste of Greek yogurt, it was lit sour cream to me at first, but now I love it! At least you’re saving yourself the expense!

    Love the quote, it’s so true how important our health is.

  6. rediscoveringlauren

    love the quotes :) its so true about our healh being the most important thing and the thing we can change!

    that dohnut looks amazing! anything with oreos gets a thmubs up from me!

    french toast in a box? thats crazy haha!

    have a nice 4th of july :)

  7. It’s ok if you don’t like Greek yogurt…I still haven’t tried a green monster and really don’t feel like it yet, haha. Not all the blogosphere trends are for everyone.

    Love your quote. I’m a big quote person, too. I used to search for the best ones and put them all into one document and print it for inspiration. :-)

  8. feel free to send any unused greek yogurt over my way, haha! Glad you liked the Luna bars though…I love WCM, too. Yum!

    Awesome quote!

  9. Oh well to the yogurt, at least you tried it! It just means more fro-yo ;)

  10. I can’t believe even choc chips didnt make you like the Greek yogurt! I would eat chocolate covered cardboard :-)

    Happy 4th!!

  11. Aww I’m SO sad you don’t like Greek Yogs :( but that’s okay, all of your eats look amazing, and definitely make up for it ;) I love Luna’s too, there’s a select few that are kinda iffy though, but most are awesome – and I totally agree WCM is probably the best! The WCM Clif bar is pretty damn tasty too :P

    That quote is SO true, especially living in the world these days. Ya know?

    Enjoy your 4th! My favorite 4th treat is probably baked beans – wierd, I know! Or ice cream :)

    Love,
    Meg

  12. as much as I love my peanut butter, the WCMN luna bar taste the best! have a great 4th!

  13. that donut looks amazing!!! haha i love that you get quotes emailed to you…i used to get a daily quote service too, they can be so inspiring!

  14. that doughnut looks so good! lucky! :)

  15. traveleatlove

    I have loved Greek yogurt for years, but it was definitely an acquired taste. Fage is still my fave!
    Great quote!

  16. strivingforbalance

    I have a love/hate relationship with Luna bars .. some times I just dont like them .. but I found some flavors I loooooove WCM is amazing .. I have never tried the PB cookie .. but have you tried the peppermint one .. amazingggg!

    http://strivingforbalance.wordpress.com/

  17. haha, that’s almost blasphemy to me not to like Greek yogurt! But it’s a bit of fresh air to find a blogger who has different opinions on food! :)

  18. I’m sorry you aren’t loving the greek yogurt, it’s all good though….I just like how thick & filling it is!

    But the wrap, “banana split”, french toast and holey donut look amazinggg!!! You’re eating WELL girl! :)

  19. fearlessfabulousfulloflife

    hey love– im sorry you are not a fan of greek yogurt– i personally love it– but to each their own– thats the beauty in it!!

    LOVE the holey donut and your nana split!! yummy!!!! hope you had a nice holiday :) xoxoxo

  20. I am not a huge fan of greek yogurt either….
    Everything else looks amazing! Love the pictures!

  21. Loooove that quote! So inspirational!!

    and loooove me some fro yo!!

  22. Hi I just found your blog through a few others. I love your food photos, you make them all looks so appetizing. I look forward to reading more. :)

  23. nice scrubs reference.

  24. Hey girl. Sorry about the greek yogurt fail…different people have different tastes, props for at least giving it another try…now you know for sure you don’t like it! :)

    Hope your week is going great! <3

  25. greek yo is def an diff taste, cooking with it or making the gyro yogurt stuff with it is what I usually use it for. Umm holey cow, you got holey donuts! LOL i have 6 boxes! Let me back that by saying i share with the fam and hope to take some back to school in Sept. LOL
    Loveprevails.wordpress.com

Leave a Reply

