A Nut Butter Life

Recently, I found out that I was born on a very important holiday. You might be wondering how I spent 20 years of my life not knowing this. I have no idea, but I plan on thoroughly celebrating both my birthday AND the holiday on my next bday…in April. What holiday am I talking about? Drumroll please.pb&jellyNational Peanut Butter & Jelly Day! This explains so much about me…

Anyway, a lot has happened since my last post. I am now halfway through summer school which makes me ecstatic. The second half always goes faster than the first, right? I made plans to go home in three weeks to see my brother who I’ve lost to computers on the California coast. The new working guy and I haven’t seen each other in six months! Only that amount of time could motivate me to make the six hour drive home by myself.

As for the blog, I added a new page that “features” (ha) a concise list of all recipes that show up on my front page posts. I’m absolutely hopeless without recipes–throwing things together that taste good is something I have not even remotely mastered. So, feel free to use other people’s ingeniousness when looking for something to eat.

Because it’s been so long, it doesn’t really matter when I ate all the pics shown below (and I can’t remember what day any of these were taken). Here’s a little photo spread:

CIMG2852

Healthy bacon, egg and cheese. Turkey bacon, egg whites and swiss on a whole wheat bun. So much tastier when not soaked in grease.

CIMG2847

Sweet potato pancakes from De Wafelbakkers. Review? Good, but really no sweet potato taste, which is what intrigued me–that, and the low price at Whole Foods. I think I’m going to just make my own pancakes from now on though.

CIMG2844

kashi

Kashi Thin Crust Margherita pizza. Review? Not my favorite pizza. I’m not really a girl who loves pizza sauce (unless I’m eating deep dish, yummm) and the only thing the tomato basil sauce’s flavor did for me was stay around in my mouth for quite a while. Ewww.

CIMG2857-be

Whole Foods California Shrimp Roll. I only crave sushi about once a year, and after consuming this large roll, I believe I’m set for another year. I tend to prefer sushi as an appetizer and not my whole meal.

When I went to WF to buy the sushi, I made an impromptu checkout lane purchase when I noticed this gum and decided to give it a try.

CIMG2862

I have never tried all natural gum, but let me just keep it simple and say this gum did not make me as happy as that gleeful man on the package. Boo.

The dessert stock in my apartment was at an unacceptable low, so I searched for a dessert to make. It took awhile until I realized I’m the lucky sister of a girl who makes delicious sweets all the time. The family link was one of the reasons why I chose to make a certain batch of cookies. The other reason? It was the only way I could convince myself that buying this was worth the expense:

CIMG2833-be

My first jar of almond butter! Sooooo gooooood. The camera angle was for effect. So, what did I make with (fortunately only) half this jar?

CIMG2839

Maple almond butter cookies! My sister’s picture is prettier and much more appealing, so I’m posting that one too.

maplealmondbuttercookies

For some reason, mine came out much more pancake-cookie like. Still, I’m with her boyfriend Dan in thinking these are “the best thing she’s ever baked.” Except for the Chocolate Carrot Cake, of course.

Last night, I baked a late birthday present to send my friend in Michigan. I picked the most chocolatey dessert I could find since she said those were her favorite. These brownies may just force someone into cardiac arrest. I’m posting the website picture because I couldn’t cut up and arrange the dessert in a way worthy of the drool-inducing factor they provoke.

mintbrownies

Peppermint Cookies n’ Cream Brownies from Baking Bites. I had so much fun making these! I never make desserts with 1 cup butter, 3 cups sugar and 4 eggs. :-P Plus, I got to crush up mint Oreos with my fingers. I wish I could have tried some, but they are all ready to be sent out today.

Being a summer school student, I totally value my edumacation. In that manner, I’ve decided to further my food trivia by perusing the web for “food facts.” In my attempt to spread the knowledge, I’ll post one a post. In honor of both my bday and my hometown, here’s a little nugget to chew on:

People theorize peanut butter as the brainchild of a St. Louis physician who, in 1890, ground up peanuts in order to provide a nutritious and easily digestible food for his elderly patients. However, some believe peanut butter may have existed earlier in South American and Asian cooking, and in African cooking in the USA. An 1883 Savannah newspaper even suggests that peanut butter was already a favorite food in Georgia.

21 responses to “A Nut Butter Life

  1. Coooooooookies!!! Glad you liked them! They were your brain child, remember?

    Counting down the days til our reunion…

  2. ah, so exciting to be seeing your brother! the cookies and brownies look delicious :D glad you are surviving summer school- second half always FLIES by!

  3. Lucky holiday/birthday share!! :-D

    Ooooh love the baked goods – holy yum!!

  4. peanut butter and jelly day!!?? for real!!?? thats amazing.

    mmm sushi is rocking my socks!

  5. Hey there! Glad you are almost through with summer school – I finished grad school just a year ago so I know the feeling of school being never ending… what class are you taking?

  6. Ahhh you are so lucky you are halfway done! I’m only a third of the way because we are on quarters…

  7. Love the new recipe page. Wow they have national days for everything now :)

  8. The turkey bacon sammie looks amazing!!!
    I gave you a lovely blog award on my site girly: http://healthybeachbum.blogspot.com/2009/07/casa-sweet-casa.html

    check it out and congrats! I LOVE your site and all of your amazing food pics <3

  9. I forgot if I told you already or not – I’m having a Holey Donuts giveaway, it will be up until next Wednesday!

  10. National Peanut Butter & Jelly Day? Cool! No wonder you’re such a cool person! :D
    holy cow you’ve been having some majorly good eats! And yeah, AB ROCKS!

  11. Chocolate Carrot Cake?! YUM!

    OMG! You must try the DeWafelbakkers Buckwheat Berry Pancakes. Best. Pancakes. Ever.

  12. wow – that’s a pretty good holiday to be born on. better than x-mas eve (like me!)

  13. Hey! I just stumbled across your blog, and I love it…all of your eats looks so beautiful and delicious! I’m jealous that you were born on PB&J day; nothing beats an ooey-gooey peanut butter sandwich. Classic and healthy!

  14. What a fun birthday! And I thought I was cool being born on Cinco de Mayo ;)

    That Maranatha AB is my absolute fave!! So good.

    Good luck finishing up the second half of summer school!

  15. Those cookies look so yummy! And so does those sweet potato pancakes.. I’m going to have to try and make some myself!

  16. I just started reading your blog (and going back like 3 more pages hahah)! I love it! I’m adding you to my blogroll =)

  17. Maranatha AB is my favorite. In fact, I don’t think I could use half a jar on a cookie recipe, unless I planned on eating them all myself :)

  18. Your shots are so pretty girl, all this food is making me hungryyyy!!But yes!! Glad you gave into some almond butter love, i’ve been obsessed with it lately…..it’s all I ever want!

    Sorry the marg. pizza wasn’t that amazing, I definitely recommend the mushroom and olive amy’s pizza though!

  19. Mmmm, almond butter! Both the cookies and the brownies look spectacular! What a good cook you are! i’m going to check out that cookie recipe right now! :D

  20. LOVE the bday holiday ! what day were you born in april? i was born on the 10th! aries yeee :)

    the cookies n brownies look SOOO good! maranatha is awesome :)

    have a great day xoxox

  21. You’re officially the luckiest girl ever to have your B-day on National PB&J Day! My B-day is on Groundhog’s Day. Less exciting, but still fun :)

Leave a Reply

