Whip It Good

I realized in my last post I didn’t specify when my b-day is…or more importantly when National PB&J Day is. April 2nd friends! Woo, let’s all count down. No, seriously, let’s–it’s my 21st in 2010! :-D

In blog related news, the lovely Shannon from Healthy Beach Bum bestowed me with my first award!

blog award

Thanks Shannon! A gorgeous award from a gorgeous girl!

Also, MarathonVal tagged me to share with you all seven silly (or not so silly) traits about me. Without further ado, here’s a little get to know me segment.

  1. In order to graduate with a journalism degree, I had to fulfill a one-year language requirement. After a year of Spanish in middle school, four years of French in high school, I chose to study…Swahili. Jambo!
  2. This past November, I was fortunate to get tickets to Grant Park on Election Night. Five of my friends and I had a blast inside the park and celebrated with the rest of Chicago in the street afterward with a big slice of pizza pie! One of the best moments of my life for sure.
  3. I went to an all-girls Catholic college prep school that Sports Illustrated deemed the best high school athletic program in Missouri (including public and all-boys schools). I never played a varsity sport.
  4. Growing up, the only thing I ate for breakfast was a Pop-Tart. I loved all the dessert flavors the best: Oreo, Cookies & Cream, Hot Fudge Sundae, Chocolate Fudge, S’mores. It’s one of the few junk foods I still love.
  5. I’ve lived in the same house my whole life. While I love St. Louis, I need to live in other places. I used to want to live in NYC, but now I’m looking more toward the Carolinas. I want to be somewhere warm!
  6. In high school, I was voted Best Dressed. In college, my sorority sisters voted me Most Likely to Go to a Sperm Bank–because I’m independent they said, not because I won’t get married. Yeah…
  7. My favorite place on Earth? I’ve only been there once so it may be bold to say it’s my favorite. I don’t care. If I did live in NYC, I would go to Stōgo every day.

Enough talk about myself, let’s talk about my food. I discovered a new bar I like. I’m not sure if it’s a good or bad thing to like yet another bar. Options are always great, no?

CIMG2864

I loved the texture–very much like a cookie. I normally gravitate toward chocolate or pb bars, but this berry flavor was delicious! I want to try the others: Mango Coconut, Raisin Almond, Apple Walnut, Peanut Chocolate Chip and Strawberry.

Another product rave? Amy’s Tamale Verde Black Bean frozen dinner. I almost didn’t buy it–too expensive and I try to avoid always resorting to frozen dinners.

CIMG2867

This didn’t taste frozen at all! If I ever want to order Mexican, I’m going to remember to go to the nearby WF and pick this up instead.

This past weekend I worked a huge wedding at one of the city’s museums. It was beautiful, and the couple was adorable. They had an eco-friendly, Hawaiian/African inspired ceremony and reception and a sixteen-person band that played for five straight hours. Anyway, it was a lonnng (but fun) day and night. I fueled myself beforehand with my new favorite simple snack.

CIMG2880

Wasa Whole Wheat Crispbread smothered with different kinds of nut butter. So crunchy and filling.

After ten hours of unpaid labor but wonderful amounts of experience, I did get rewarded with this lovely African violet centerpiece from one of the dinner tables.

CIMG2873-be

Let’s see how long I can keep this thing alive…

Does anyone else realize how good whipped cream is? I certainly didn’t think I liked it as much as I do. It’s really fun to swirl some on top of your afternoon coffee–especially if it’s chocolate flavored.

CIMG2879-be

Pashaw. Starbucks ain’t got nothing on my Mr. Coffee.

Yogurt parfaits really like whipped cream too.

CIMG2874-be

Pretty food that tastes good too. Mental note: this was very filling. Vanilla yog, booberries, sberries, nanners and ‘nola. Anyone else like talking in abbrevs? I normally don’t, although my sister definitely used to say “totes” all the time instead of totally. She’s a silly one.

So, it’s been pretty warm here-80 degrees and above. Naturally, I crave chili during these times. I heated up some of Amy’s Chili with Vegetables and made myself some cheetahs on the side.

CIMG2883

Definitely only ate one-third of that. Chili is hearty! Leftovers are perfect for next day’s lunch…

CIMG2886

A veggie chilidog! I enjoyed the chili so much more when it was chilling on top of my dog. The best part is I still have more for future lunch repeats.

Food Fact time!

The word “salary” comes from “salt.” Our oldest preservative, salt used to be so rare that workers would get paid in tablespoons of salt instead of coins. Now, restaurants offer salt for free and we sometimes eat too much of it. Funny how things change…

24 responses to “Whip It Good

  1. STOOOOOOGOOOOO!!! I took Julie there last week – she’s totes a convert.

  2. That veggie chili dog is ROCKIN’! I used to chili dogs growing up. And I’m so with you on the whipped cream…I could eat a bowl of the stuff with a spoon!

  3. i adore whipped cream! haha if you can adore a food… love the fun facts about you.
    i might try out for a sorority in college do you suggest it?

  4. oooh you just stole my heart with that whipped cream in your coffee!!! ;) That looks SO amazing.

    Congrats on the award again girly! That is so neat you can speak Swahili. I’ve only been to nyc one too and I fell in love with it when I was there!!! One day I hope I can live there… if only i had some $$$ lol :) Have a great day tomorrow! <3 Shannon

  5. I really want to live somewhere warm, too. You’ll have to tell me about the best of St. Louis. I’m moving next week!

  6. so cool about the salt/salary! :P

    I love Amy’s- they can do no wrong in my eyes. I’ve heard mixed things about the Soyjoy- have you tried other flavours?

    I vote for a post in Swahili!

  7. amazing eats!! i always eat wasa crackers (crisp bread) and PB! love it!!!!

    that is so cool you tool swahili! amazing!!!!!

    xxoxox j

  8. such a smart and creative way to reuse the chilli.

    the chocolate peanut butter soyjoy is pretty good!

  9. Love the chili dog! Great substitution for the ball park ones!

    Chocolate peanut butter soyjoy?? i’ve never seen that flavor! I’m going to be on the lookout!

  10. My best friend’s birthday is April 2nd too!! He turned 21 this year :)

    I used to LOVE S’mores Pop Tarts when I was little, and the iced Strawberry ones were amazing as well.

    haha fun fact about “salt” and “salary”

  11. Man oh man, whipped cream is my arch enemy. I am capable of plowing through one of those bad boys in one sitting, easily. It’s like eating delicious, decadent air! yummmmm. Wish it had a better ingredient list though..

    Also I’m so jealous you got to go to Grant Park!!! I live in Chicago so would have loved to have been there, but I was out of the country on my honeymoon when tix went online so I missed my chance. You should put up pix, I’d love to see!

  12. That’s so funny that you crave HOT food when it’s pretty hot out!! But don’t worry….i’m the same way, still eating oatmeal on most warm, summer mornings!!

    But wow, I just developed a seriousss craving for a starbucks hot chocolate + whip cream…..it’s been wayyy too long! Oh my, I LOVE their soy hot chocolates.

  13. AGREED! That Amy’s Tamale Verde is SOOOOO good!

    I’ve heard so many mixed reviews on the SoyJoy bars that I may just have to try one for myself!

  14. Thanks for stopping by my blog. Yours is great too!!

    Omg how have I never heard of Stogo?! After visiting their website, I am planning a trip there asap!

  15. I used to eat bowls of whipped cream, haha! Or I would go into the kitchen, spray some into my mouth, and leave. Wow…true story.

    I love the award your sorority sisters gave you. Haha, I would’ve cracked up getting that.

  16. wow, that whipped cream ontop of the coffeee…just abt whipped my ass! I really crave some foamy coffee now!
    Swahili? Rocking!
    And journalism! Meeeee toooo!!

  17. hehe your fun facts are hilarious! love the sports one and the superlatives – what?! haha sperm bank? Randar! Swahili was awesome too!

    Your eats are YUM – I love Amy’s – used to eat her Breakfast Burritos like they were going out of style – i’ll have to try this! And the chili looks yum too – especially on the dog. :)

  18. Love the veggie chilli dog and the Yogurt parfaits very delicious :D

  19. love whip cream!! YUM!

    that bar looks pretty good… next bar try perhaps!

  20. strivingforbalance

    soyjoys are sooo good! I love the apple one!

    the yogurt parfair looks heavenly!

    http://strivingforbalance.wordpress.com/

  21. I used to hate abbrevs and now I am all about them :D I am NOT a fan of the soy joys at all but Amy’s for sure!! Have a great weekend girlie!

  22. I love the comment that you were the Most Likely to Go to a Sperm Bank, that made me laugh :)

    I’m a big fan of chilli dogs, hot dogs and sausages and yours look wonderful.

  23. hey, how are you? hope you’re just having too much fun to blog! :-)

  24. wasa crackers are my fave! great blog

Leave a Reply

