I Ramble When I’m Excited

T minus eight days until summer school is over, I slap on my seat belt and make the drive home to see all sorts of loved ones and get acquainted with a new friend…my new iPhone!

I never really had plans or a strong desire to feel like I have to have an iPhone, but when my parents were visiting me this weekend, I was talking to my dad about his iPod touch and asked if he thought I would get an iPhone when my phone contract is up in March. He said my contract is actually up in November, and then realized my mom’s contract is up now! Ergo, my mom could get the phone and we could transfer my number to it…that day! Well, it turns out not actually that day as there needs to be iPhones in stock at the local stores for this plan to work. Long story short, my mom is babysitting my phone until I get home next Thursday. I think she’s having fun with it, although I did send her a text message in the a.m. with no response from her. Turns out, she didn’t know how to text me back! :-P

Naturally, I’m very excited to explore all the food apps to add to my phone, but I digress…as the post’s title shows.

So, yes, the parents took time to visit their youngest child and I welcomed them with open arms as I rarely get company this summer. Plus, they were bringing me new furniture for my apartment, since the girl I’m subletting from came in a week ago and took out almost everything I can sit on! My butt was getting sore from chilling on the (carpeted) floor. Oh, the hard life I live…

Anyway, here’s a little recap of our Saturday. I woke up to the smell of my dad’s famous pancakes. He didn’t think he could make them the night before because I didn’t have any “normal” ingredients. Well, he was wrong. Although I do have five different kinds of alternative flour (I am Sweet & Natural‘s sister, after all), I did have one tiny bag of white flour. He made the pancakes. I ate the pancakes, and they were gooood.

Mom and Dad and I made our way down to Bucktown/Wicker Park where we spent a few hours browsing through overpriced, empty boutiques. All that overreacting to price tags made us hungry. After going in about three pubs on just one block, we decided to eat here.

CIMG2888

Few things make me happier than eating outside on a nice day. Outdoor BBQs? I’m there. Picnics? I should have my own basket. You can’t really tell from the picture, but we were dining en plein air at the Northside Bar and Grill.

My dad and I split a fruit tray to start, and I give kudos to the restaurant for its arranging techniques. And props to them for adding kiwi.

CIMG2890

I ordered the Grilled Catfish Sandwich with grilled veggies for my entree. I love getting fish at restaurants because I never buy and make it for myself. I devoured every bite of my meal–except the garlic mayo. I’m not a fan of a lot of garlic or mayo.

CIMG2892

Our shopping mission was simple: the parents insisted they needed to buy me new shoes. Who am I to argue with what my parents thought best? Well, I didn’t find any shoes, but my mom came out with some stellar purchases…a cute yellow purse and a fuchsia cotton dress I convinced her into buying muhaha.

From Bucktown, we made our way over to Navy Pier to catch the Rod Blagojevich Superstar show from the Second City comedy troupe. We had some time to kill before the show and knew we were having a late dinner so we had dessert to tide us over.

CIMG2893

You gotta love the overpriced ice cream at Navy Pier. Whatever, strawberry sorbet totally did the trick. My mom got plain strawberry ice cream and my dad opted for a strawberry banana smoothie. Can you tell what our family’s favorite fruit is?

CIMG2895

Ah, I love being a tourist in my own city. I still haven’t been on the Ferris wheel. It’s a cheesy thing I want to do eventually.

The show was entertaining, but the bathroom view ended up being the highlight of my night. That’s something I wasn’t expecting.

CIMG2896

Seriously. It’s a show in itself really.

After we got our politically aware laugh on, I dragged the parents to an Armenian restaurant close to the Pier called Sayat Nova. My two favorite cuisines for eating out are Mediterranean and Indian so I was loving the menu. Plus, I had pre-picked out my mom’s chicken dish so she was on board too.

To start, we ordered the Baba Ghannouj. My dad and I dug in while my mom sat and nibbled on a pita triangle.

CIMG2897

Then, they brought out a house salad. Loving the veggies. My mom found the mint vinaigrette dressing “interesting.”

CIMG2900

For my entree, I chose the Kebab Combo which came in what I thought was a small portion at first.

CIMG2902

And then quickly realized that I had ordered a lot of meat. It was delicious, but I can’t remember the last time I was so carnivorous. That grilled onion was amazing by the way. Slice a sweet onion in half, grill it, be happy.

You know you love the food facts.

The Popsicle was invented by an 11-year-old who kept it secret for 18 years. In 1905, Frank Epperson left a combo of powdered soda and water on his porch with a stir stick in the cup. When temperatures reached a record low in San Francisco that night, the combo formed what we know to be a Popsicle today. Eighteen years later, Frank patented his accidental creation. The kids are the future! Maybe we should leave the menu up to them sometime…

22 responses to “I Ramble When I’m Excited

  1. 1) Sooooo exciting about your iphone!!!! Let me know what you think – I tried it at Best Buy but had a heck of a time typing on the keyboard so as of now I couldn’t get one unless I hear that it just gets easier over time!

    2) Do you recommend the Rod Blago show? I don’t know anyone else who has seen it yet!

    3) Thanks for posting about the Armenian restaurant! Is that within running distance from Navy Pier? Haha you dont have to answer that I can stop being lazy and mapquest it myself ;) The hubby and I love to run/rollerblade to Navy Pier for dinner and Armenian sounds so interesting!

    What a fun time with the rents! :)

  2. Ahh how fun! I’m so glad you took your family on a tour of this awesome city :) Ok, I’m officially back to “normal” – whatever that is – and hope that we can meet up sometime soon! We’ll have to figure out what works best!

  3. That’s super exciting you bought an iPhone!!! I’m jealous.

    Oh man, I love Chicago. It’s only an hour train ride from where I live, so I go visit a few times a year. I go a bit crazy with the shopping on Michigan Avenue, though! Sounds like you had a wonderful time.

  4. So jealous you’re getting an iphone. There’s so many awesome apps I want!

    That fruit salad looks delicious. I’m loving the orange slice on the top – the restaurant does have some nice arranging skills!

  5. hahaha i love the popcicle story!! awesome :)

  6. I’m moving back to Chicago in September – I want to try that Wicker Park restaurant out!
    Lucky you are almost done with school. I’m currently avoiding my homework via blogreading.

  7. rediscoveringlauren

    love the random foody facts :)
    it looks like you had a really fun day!

  8. I would take up residence in that bathroom with a view like that.

  9. What a fun time! I want an Iphone! I have an Ipod touch and I love all of the cool apps you can put on it!

    that fruit salad does look pretty!

  10. ahh congrats on the iPhone!! Those are oh so cool :)

    that is a gorgeous fruit salad and sounds just like an amazing lunch overall.

  11. AHh, I love Chicago! I used to live pretty close and miss it a lot. Looks like some amazing Armenian food; I love all of the diverse restaurants in Chicago!

  12. sounds like so much fun! I never make fish at home either but love eating it out.

    Yay 8 days! what are the post-summer school plans?

  13. Have fun with your iPhone, there are so many things you can do with it! All of your eats look amazing, esp the fruit salad. Yum :)
    <3

  14. all of your pictures are beautiful! looks like fun and some great eats :0)

    oh that is so exciting about an IPhone … it has so many awesome features!!! Right now I am just wishing I had a working phone!

  15. Oh my god! an iphone! That’s awesome! I’m so excited for you, having an iphone is my dream!
    And these days, I’ve developed such a penchant for Mediterranean foods too!

  16. love that your parents wanted to get you new shoes! LOVE when my mum n dad do that without me asking :) hehe!!

    yay for the new iphone! LOVE the eats– the baba ganouuj looks so yummy! :)

  17. homegirlcaneat

    GIRL you will love the iPhone! It is my baby…YOU MUST get the twisty text app, Shzam app, and pappy jump app! What can I say, am an APP hoe!

    I loooove mediterranean food!! I would have eaten da whole plate!

    And I wanted to let you know I was cracking up at your comment about your knowledge ( or lack of) about parking garages…sh!t, I need to do my research too before owning the cement block of cars and dancing!

  18. i almost died when i saw the picture of the haagen daz.

  19. That girlled catfish looks AWESOME! As do the kebabs – yum!

  20. So i’m contemplating between the iphone and blackberry for a CHRISTMAS (yea, kinda far away) present!!! I have verizon, so that’s why i’m already leaning towards a bb….but iphones are so cute and have sooooo many apps! And food apps?! I’d go crazy! :)

    That baba ganoush looks AMAZING!

  21. What a tour, I’m hoping to get out there ASAP, my cuz just moved there!

    Yay for the new phone- i’m soooo overdue for one! I heard there’s an awesome iphone app called “urban spoon”, that finds any type of restaurant nearby! Perfect for us foodies :D

Leave a Reply

