Tell Me What’s Your Flavor

So, I’m in exam week paper writing mode which means this post will be short on the words, big on the pictures. Time to break out those concise writing techniques I learn in my journalism classes. :-P

It was the weirdest thing. I started getting serious cravings for a food I thought I disliked. Has this happened to anyone? Well, instead of fighting the cravings, I went with them.

It started with this guy.

CIMG2905

And then things got out of control fast.

CIMG2913

CIMG2918

CIMG2924

I’m finally a fan of Greek yogurt. Clearly, it’s not just infatuation.

This non-Greek yogurt was not good. However, it did make a nice sour cream substitute to my chicken quesadillas. I fed most of it to my sink drain, though.

CIMG2909

I also made oatmeal on the stove finally. Can you believe I normally always microwave my oats? I just got used to it from living stove-less throughout the school year. I actually blended Wheat Chex and Quaker Oats to make myself a very grainy bfast. Mmm mmm good.

CIMG2917

Other good eats include this huge salad with raisins, raspberries, chicken, shredded carrots and lots of feta cheese with raspberry dressing.

CIMG2921

I also tried the Kashi Mayan Harvest Bake frozen meal. I decided to heat this up in the oven instead of the microwave, which was pointless because it took a lot longer and tasted the same as it would have if I had microwaved it. Lesson learned. The meal was good–I liked the plantains and sweet potatoes–but I think my expectations ended up being higher than my actual liking after the taste test.

CIMG2915

When my parents came up a few weekends ago, my mom gave me our “vintage” food processor. The first thing I thought was YES! I can make banana soft serve.

CIMG2908

Sigh. That picture is so sad. I’m going to have to do right by my nanner soft serve next time and take a picture worth celebrating its deliciousness. For now I’ll chalk the starkness of the pic up as representation of its simplicity.

I’m really excited for this post’s food fact. I’ve been wanting to share it for awhile, and I feel good about this being the time.

Your favorite flavor of ice cream can say something about your personality!

Edy’s Grand Ice Cream commissioned an ice cream flavorology study conducted by Dr. Alan R. Hirsch (M.D.), Neurological Director of the Smell & Taste treatment and Research Foundation in Chicago, that revealed that distinct personalities correspond with ice cream flavors.

If you like vanilla, you are colorful, impulsive, a risk taker who sets high goals and has high expectations of yourself. You also enjoy close family relationships. Gregarious, lives a hectic life. Easily suggestible, expressive, idealistic; a private person.
(Prototype lovelorn housewife)

If you like chocolate, you are lively, creative, dramatic, charming, enthusiastic and the life of the party. Chocolate fans enjoy being at the center of attention and can become bored with the usual routine. Seductive, well-dressed, extroverted, easily influenced, a follower, intuitive, enjoys intimate relationships.
(Prototype: feminine woman, macho man)

If you like butter pecan, you are orderly, perfectionist, careful, detail-oriented, conscientious, ethical and fiscally conservative. You are also competitive, aggressive in sports and the take-charge type of personality.
(Prototype: executive, secretary)

If you like banana, you are easy going, well adjusted, generous, honest and empathetic.
(Prototype: the perfect husband, wife, parent or child)

If you like strawberry, you are shy, yet emotionally robust, skeptical, detail-oriented, opinionated, introverted and self critical. Easily made to feel guilty; cranky, pessimistic, low self-esteem.
(Prototype: bureaucrat, journalist)

If you like chocolate chip, you are generous, competitive and accomplished. You are charming in social situations, ambitious and competent. A visionary, a conqueror, enjoys being catered to, a go-getter, intolerant of defeat.
(Prototype: Industry leaders, voted most likely to succeed in school)

My favorite flavor is chocolate chip, and I agree with a lot of the characteristics but definitely not all of them! Oh well, I thought it was a fun study. What’s your favorite flavor? Does it match your personality?

28 responses to “Tell Me What’s Your Flavor

  1. what if you like all the flavors ? heheh! i guess chocolate has always been my #1 though!

    LOVE greek yogurt too! fage 2% is my absolute fav!!!!

  2. Oh boy I’m strawberry. They don’t have alot of nice things to say about me. Maybe I should switch to banana! (Cookie Dough isn’t on the list)

  3. Chocolate PB is my favorite, and second fave is Oreo with huge chunks, but out of your list I guess I’ll go with chocolate.

    I do think it’s a bit ironic that they say vanilla lovers are “risk takers”, haha, I would have thought the opposite!

  4. i dont know what my fav is depends on my mood. Except cake batter ice cream = awesome! and greek yogurt is def one of the best things ever!

  5. rediscoveringlauren

    im a total vanilla girl :) ahats funny is most of what it says is SO true! crazyness…
    all of the eats look delicious! especially the banana soft serve…i need to make myself some very soon! i still havent tried it!

  6. My favorite’s vanilla and I definitely have a few of those traits. Cool study!

  7. LOL – my favorite flavor is strawberry. Oh journalism, what have you done to me?!

    Your pictures are all so gorgeous – glad you’re a big fan of Greek yogurt now! And honestly, I think your picture of banana soft serve looks pretty d*mn tasty! I love the chocolate addition :)

    Ok, so I’m going home to Arizona over Labor Day weekend…GAH! How long will Ashley be here? We need to find a way to make it work! But if it doesn’t, then let’s plan on you and me meeting up at a football game and/or somewhere in Evanston soon!

    Good luck with your exams!

  8. I felt the same way about greek yogurt at first I thought it tasted like sour cream. But I love it now!

  9. Hmm…I like strawberry and vanilla best of those choices. And if you mix those descrptions together, you would probably get me. Very interesting. :) Great looking salad by the way!

  10. Yummy food!

    I like vanilla, and that description definitely describes my personality to a T. Crazy!

  11. your pictures are all so pretty and yummy looking!

    good luck on all your papers this week girl! you will rock them I am sure of that.

    I actually like the cultural revolution yogurt. The texture is just so weird that I like it… but it does taste very very milky in my opinion!

    And Edy’s ice cream = love

  12. Loving all of the greek yogurt eats girlie :) Totally delicious :)

    aww that is so cute about the Ice Cream flavor!! Love me some Edys’

  13. YAYY for finally being a Greek yogurt fan!! My life has seriously changed since eating it for the first time. I have it pretty much every day :) It’s just so dang good.

    And stove top oats are SO much better than microwaved. And they really don’t take a whole lot longer, just more to clean.

  14. Stove-top oats is the only way to go!! I take FULL advantage when i’m home from school! Ugh, in less than 2 weeks i’ll be back to microwavable, GUMMY oats! I guess i’ll adjust, if I have to…. ha ha ha

    And yes!!!! We have converted you! ;) If you have pumpkin butter, please mix some of that goodness into plain greek yog, with cereal and a banana and/or pb! It’s amazingggggg.

  15. Looks like you were lovin’ on the Greek yogurt! :-)

    Interesting info about the ice cream flavors. I don’t really know if I have a favorite. I waffle back and forth between vanilla and chocolate, so maybe I’m a combo of both of those. Good luck with the exam papers!

  16. Wow I like Vanilla and it was really close to me too! I have used so much greek yogurt this week, in a soft serve like you (i failed it came out like a thick smoothie), for dip additions, in a dinner dish and as a dill sauce!!
    gotta love it!

  17. That’s weird…I’m a chocolate chip, but that’s my least fav flavor!

    And haha, I do that to food I love too! Obesession!

  18. I love using plain yogurt as sour cream! It’s so much better for some reason!

    I love butter pecan and it matches my personality quite well!

  19. My fave is chocolate chip – it matches me a bit but I can be very butter pecan too. hehe fun post! I’ve never been into greek yogurt (like eat it with a spoon) but used it in a recipe for the first time last week and really liked it. It’s SO thick! (I used Fage 0%)

  20. The Healthy Apple

    OMG; I honestly want your salad ..hehe..that picture is so incredibly appetizing…wow…very pretty…I love Greek yogurt…since I’m lactose intolerant, it’s the only dairy that my stomach can digest! Glad you like it.

    Have a great day.
    Best,
    Amie

  21. hopeinpeanutbutterandoats

    aaaand what happens if i like ALL those flavors and can’t choose because they’re all my favorite??i hope it doesn’t mean im bipolar, or tri or QUADpolar! HA! now THAT would get messy!
    hope you have a wonderful night girl!

  22. That greek yogurt mess looks pretty delicious!

    I like all those flavors but I think I’d chose butter pecan.. I love nuts and nut butters!

  23. I love butter pecan… weird- it totally matches my personality!

  24. I am about 60 percent vanilla
    40 percent chocolate!

  25. YAY welcome to the dark side — greek yogurt is wicked expensive but SO worth it! hope everything went well this week!

  26. helllooo my fellow Chicagoan!!! Yay for greek yogurt and yay for trying so many different brands!! I have still to try Voskos, and it has been FOREVER since i last had Fage. You should definitely get Chobani at Costco if price is important to you. They’re like $0.70 a cup there, but you gotta buy a crate. :P

    I’m definitely a mint chocolate chip too!!!

  27. purple cow is my fav. ice cream flavor.
    and i am obsessed with chobani yogurt :)
    i just came across your blog and i really enjoy reading it, i just made my own blog and would love it if you would check it out!
    jenna

Leave a Reply

