It’s Been Far Too Long…

…and I have many days worth of food to post!

Last weekend, I went home to St. Louis for a little rest + relaxation with my brother who was in town visiting from Sacramento. Saturday day was spent with family! My two grandmas, one aunt and one cousin came over for a really delicious lunch featuring my dad’s hard morning work. Inspired by a recent outing to a BBQ place near my school, my dad decided to smoke all sorts of meat for our luncheon. Warning: LOTS of meat pictures ahead.

CIMG2939

CIMG2942

CIMG2943

Smoked chicken, ribs and salmon. The salmon was for me. :-P

On the side, my two grandmas brought potato salad and homemade bread.

CIMG2940

CIMG2945

I contributed to the spread too (per my mother’s orders) and made Haricots Verts and Grape Tomato Salad with Crème Fraîche Dressing.

CIMG2938

Really simple and delicious! Lots of flavor. Everyone was in agreement about that.

For dessert, my grandma made blueberry pie for my brother…

CIMG2951

…not knowing that my mom had bought her a birthday cake from the store! Muhaha…my grandma told everyone that she’s not having birthdays anymore. ;-)

CIMG2946

And then the cake massacre of 2009 happened. Just like 2008. Apparently, history taught me nothing. For some reason, I have these intense cravings for store bought cake, and so naturally, I was looking forward to having a piece of grandma’s bday cake. Flashback to 12 months ago when I was deep into my healthy eating spree, my mom encouraged my grandma to give me a big piece to kind of give me a break from my normal eating. I agreed and happily ate until I felt sick and didn’t want that kind of cake again for a year. A year later, it happened again. I’m looking forward to 2010. Maybe I’ll learn from my mistakes. I stand by that it was all worth it.

But wait, there’s still more desserts. My dad made his homemade ice cream after my other grandma suggested it.

CIMG2953

My cousin was perplexed as to why I was taking pictures of my food. Always a weird thing to explain, I’m sure you all can relate.

The night before the feast, I had another mini feast with my best friend from high school. We went to my favorite neighborhood in St. Louis, the Central West End. After searching for a parking spot for twenty minutes, we were ravenous for dinner. The Drunken Fish wasn’t too expensive and could seat us right away so we chose that. I’ve heard good things about the sushi restaurant, but I wasn’t blown away by the food. It wasn’t bad though!

For an appetizer, we split the St. Louis Roll: tuna, avocado, pickled radish and masago.

CIMG2929

Not a shabby way to represent the hometown. For my entree, I had Chicken Yaki Soba Noodles.

CIMG2930

I ate it. I’m not really a noodle girl–it kind of all tastes the same to me. Give me a sandwich, salad or pizza and I can say more marvelous things. The best friend ordered an appetizer and only got two wimpy skewers of meat so we decided dessert was a must. We walked across the street for some gelato, which ranks in the top 5 of my favorite desserts. Carrot cake, chocolate chip ice cream cookies, cherry pie and s’mores take the other four spots.

CIMG2932

She got chocolate chip, and I got mint chocolate chip. My chip ended up being one HUGE chunk of chocolate in the middle that I happily unladylike bit down on.

Just this past weekend, I met up with Mara, Jenn and Caroline at Blind Faith Cafe. You can read more about the fabulous time we had on their blogs and hear about the delicious treats Jenn gave us! I ordered the Homemade Quiche with red peppers and spinach and enjoyed every last bit of it down to its flaky crust.

CIMG2959

Food fact time. This one’s a short one (unlike the rest of this post).

Honey is believed to be the only food that does not spoil.  Honey found in the tombs of Egyptian pharaohs has been tasted by archaeologists and found to still be edible. You know what that means? Stock up when it’s on sale!

14 responses to “It’s Been Far Too Long…

  1. My goodness that salmon and chicken looks mouthwateringly good! So does that ice cream. My fav desserts are def ice cream and carrot cake. mmmmmm!!! Yummy sushi.

  2. Welcome back! That gelato looks fahhhhbulous

  3. Such a fantastic meet up group!!

  4. Wow, so many good eats! Everything looks fantastic!

  5. For me, when it comes to cake, I go crazzzzy. Naturally, I feel like crap afterwards! My stomach isn’t used to all the sugar and butter! But I never learn, do I??

    Interesting fact about the honey! Whoda thunk?

  6. wow all of that food looks great – especially those soba noodles!! mm homemade bread is always the best!

  7. Yum! Where are good places for gelato in St. Louis? I’ve been here for a bit and have enjoyed the Muny and Ted Drewe’s. :-)

  8. Chicken is my favourite meat and yours pic looks so good.

  9. Everything looks delicious! Especially those homemade desserts!

  10. It’s always so awkward when you get caught in the act (of takin’ food pics) !! hahaa ;)

    That blueberry pie looks to dieeee for. Hope your day is going well!

  11. Mmm I love cake too, it’s just so tempting when you haven’t had it in a while. I made the mistake of eating too much at my grad party and now I’m caked out too!

    That gelato, on the other hand, looks delicious. I don’t think I could ever tire of ice cream!

  12. Wow! Those food pics look AWESOME!!

  13. Woahhh everything looks amazing!

    Glad to have you back :) Missed ya!

    Love,
    Meg

Leave a Reply

