In Search of the World’s Best Dessert

I have to admit, I feel kind of like what I expect to feel if I was chosen to be a contestant on a reality tv show. I’m excited, optimistic and a little bit more aware of myself. So, hi! I’m Amanda, and I’ve been a spectator in the food blog world for about six months now. I’m good at observing. I’ve currently spent the past 12 years of my life practicing being a journalist. However, I’m not sure if that’s the right path for me anymore, and I’ve currently been bitten by the take-risks bug. Believe it or not, to me, starting this blog is a risk. It’s a more public form of expression than my usual keep-thoughts-to-myself method.

Oh, and if I had to chose a reality tv game show to play? Price is Right. Love me some Plinko.

Now that the mini-introduction is over, let’s start the picture/food part of the inaugural official My Summerizations blog post.

I woke up early today to skip my classes. Crazy, right? Well, not really because I woke up early so I could take a morning flight back to St. Louis (my home) so I could hang with the parents for the long weekend.

What do I like eating at 5:15? I have no idea, I’m not normally up then. I did choose to make a small bowl of cereal–Archer Farm’s Strawberry Yogurt Granola & Flakes.

CIMG2390

This was my first time trying this cereal, and it tasted a lot more sugary than I imagined. I was surprised to see only 11 g of sugar was present in one serving! I’ll have more to say about this when I have it again as 1) I was still half asleep when eating and 2) I was suffering from lack of taste buds this morning because of awful allergies.

I also ate a Crunchy Peanut Butter Mini Clif bar on the plane before takeout (and after the flight attendant told us to to turn off our electric devices).

When I returned home, I made a delicious lunch to remind myself of my childhood. Good old grilled PB&J–no frills! I had three fresh strawberries (yay for May=strawberry season) and a clementine on the side.

CIMG2396

For a snack, I tried something my mom had bought a week ago. Smartfood’s Popcorn Clusters in honey multigrain. These tasted just like caramel popcorn! A single serving had 110 calories and 5 g of fiber. I munched on these and half a banana.

CIMG2401

I love being home because that means I get a kitchen! My sorority house I live in on campus doesn’t have a functioning kitchen for us to use, so I never get a chance to bake and cook. This means when I’m home, I go crazy. My mom and I hit up the grocery store for an hour and a half to buy ingredients for meals for the next three days. Tonight, we had Chicken with Dark Beer with mashed new potatoes and garlic-herb bread.

CIMG2407

This dish is so much fun to make. I lit gin on fire! 🙂 Oh, did I mention it was delicious? Because it was. And normally when I have dishes with beer in them, I can never taste the beer. I could this time and it added really good flavor.

Afterward, I had the best dessert in the world. No, really.

CIMG2414

My definition of summer. (Even though my summer hasn’t technically started.) It’s a Tedad’s Scotch Oatmeal Cookie concrete from Ted Drewes, the most famous place in St. Louis. What is this Arch thing you speak of? 😉

No, but seriously this is one of our claims to fame. It’s a frozen custard stand that’s been around since 1929, and I don’t think there ever hasn’t been a crowd there–which is half the fun in going!

CIMG2415

That picture doesn’t do the crowd justice, but it certainly captures the place’s charm.

Well, I’m off to get some of the sleep back that my airplane flight robbed me of this morning. Hope everyone has a good Saturday…whether it’s relaxing or productive!

4 responses to “In Search of the World’s Best Dessert

  1. mmm grilled pb and j. My all time favorite for sure! Looks yummy!

    That is a HUGE crowd of people, but I don’t blame them I would so get in line for some ice cream in the warm weather.

    Hope your weekend is going well dear. Love the first post 🙂

  2. I had that same cereal for breakfast!

  3. Hey girl! I’m so glad that you updated! I’m so excited to start reading your blog, thank you so much for always visiting mine. You are awesome!

    Hope you’re well rested from the trip home…5am is WAY to early, haha! 😛 Blah cereals that taste too sugary wreck my morning sometimes…I just don’t think my tastebuds are ready for it yet haha 😉

    I love The Price is Right! Such an oldie but a goodie.

    Your eats look great…especially the ice cream…summery! 🙂 And grilled PB&J is the way to go.

    Have a great weekend!!

    Love,
    Meg

  4. Hey! Welcome to the blog world.

    Are you from St. Louis? I’m moving there in August to start a dietetic internship at SLU!

    I will definitely have to check out Ted Drewe’s bc any kind of ice cream or custard is my definition of summer, too. 🙂

Leave a Reply

