It’s Good to be Home

Apparently, I was more tired than I thought! I slept in until 10:30 this morning. I haven’t done that in months. I’m trying to become more of a morning person. I like getting up early at school–like 7:30 am–and I try to take early classes. I’m a strange college student, I guess. Sometimes it’s nice being the only one up.

For breakfast, I made myself two Kashi original waffles left over from when I bought them over Christmas break. One of them had a bad case of freezer burn. Ouch! I topped one with Fage 2% and the other with strawberry jam.

CIMG2417

I had plans to go shopping with my mom after lunch so I spent the morning reading the newspaper which is one of my favorite things to do. I LOVE newspapers! It’s so much more enjoyable than getting the news online. I’m going to be sad when they stop existing. I also baked some brownies before I ransacked the kitchen to make myself lunch.

CIMG2429

Lunch ended up being a continuation of breakfast! I had half a Thomas Hearty Grains 100% Whole Wheat bagel with reduced fat cream cheese, half a red delicious apple and a parfait with strawberries, Stonyfield Farm Vanilla Yogurt and Heartland original granola. This totally held me over for an all afternoon shopping expedition with my momma. I did enjoy a packed Mini Chocolate Chip Clif bar later.

For dinner, I made Fresh Salmon-Cilantro burgers. So good. We paired it with Sweet Potato Fries and my mom snuck in some warmed-up frozen vegetables. The cherry tomatoes and carrots were tasty too.

CIMG2436

So colorful! The parents enjoy when I make us all try new recipes. My mom doesn’t share the same obsession with cooking as I do, and we’ve been eating the same meals since I’ve been born. I like playing with food. 😛

For dessert, I tried a Fudgy Mocha-Toffee Brownie from the batch I made this morning. Mmmm….brownies. And vanilla ice cream! I loved these. And they were only 145 calories a piece.

CIMG2446

My mom and I went out for shopping trip two after dinner. We ended up getting my dad’s present for their 30th wedding anniversary that’s on Tuesday. 30 years. Go parents!

When I got home, I finished up my day with some much needed peanut butter and banana. Check out that pb nanner goodness.

CIMG2448

Right now I’m watching the SNL rerun with Zac Efron. I’m not totally obsessed with him like a lot of people, but I do admit the boy’s got star quality. The fact that he’s quite pretty too doesn’t hurt.

I’m off to bed soon. There’s so much left I need to get done this weekend before I head back to school, and I need my energy! Hopefully, I’ll be able to actually get up when my alarm tells me to tomorrow.

Do you like waking up early or prefer sleeping in?

8 responses to “It’s Good to be Home

  1. Those sweet potato fries look yummy! And freezer burnt waffles can put a nasty damper on breakfast 😦

  2. Those brownies look so good! And I’m a huge fan of Stonyfield yogurts.

    I’m the same way…I love morning classes (can NOT pay attention during afternoon/night classes) and like waking up early before everyone else. It makes me feel more productive maybe?

    Have a great day! 🙂

  3. I’m definitely more of a morning person, the latest I can really sleep in until is probably 9:30 or so, and that’s under special circumstances. AND if I don’t get up and eat breakfast, I feel like my whole day is thrown off!

  4. Im not really a Zac Efron fan either, most of the time I think he just looks like a complete d-bag. But he was pretty hot in seventeen again.

    I am def. a morning person. Usually I can not sleep in even if I try. I like being up early because I feel like I get more things done!

    Hope your memorial day weekend is going well dear!

  5. Hey!

    I am a morning person. Currently, because its summer, I have been getting up around 9 o’clock. This time works out really well for me. During the school year, I do find it hard sometimes to wake up at 6:30. That is why I will be making the most of this sweet summer time!

    I’m with you on Zac. mmmm. 😀

    Have a great day!

  6. Hey! I just found your blog, and I seriously think the name “My Summerizations” is so adorable!

    To answer your question – I’m definitely a morning person, although I LOVE sleeping in – it’s been a while since I’ve been able to though!

  7. I’m totally a morning person, but I do like the occassional sleep in sesh 🙂

    Where did you find a mini Clif?! Never heard of the mini versions, but I’d love to find em’!

    Oh my goodness your brownie looks delicious, and the PB nanner mash-up you’ve got going on there 😉 lovely!

    Have a great day and I hope you enjoyed the rest of staring at Zac’s pretty face 🙂

    Love,
    Meg

  8. Is realy PB and banan good together?!

Leave a Reply

