A Fruit-Full Day

First, I would like to say a HUGE thanks to everyone who has been reading and commenting! I’ve been solely a blog reader for the past six months, and it’s nice to feel welcomed as I make myself a little more visible around the food blog world. I really appreciate it! You guys are awesome. I thought that before this blog too, and it was one of the reasons why I wanted to join the food blog community. So yeah, thanks! 🙂

Now, a documentation of my first day back at school. I woke up early this morning but still found myself in a rush! Apparently, I had terrible time management issues while getting ready. I ended up having to eat a quick breakfast before I had to be at my 9 am Broadcast Journalism class.

CIMG2505

The apple was in case I got hungry during my 4 hour (4 HOUR?!) class. Surprisingly, I ended up not needing it. I normally don’t eat big breakfasts because i tend to eat lunch and dinner earlier than most people (11 am and 5 pm, usually–college has us all eating like senior citizens). Also, I grew up HATING breakfast. The only thing I would eat basically from ages 3-16 was a Pop Tart. My body’s not used to having to digest a lot in the morning. Now, breakfast is my favorite meal of the day. Go figure.

I came back from class and grabbed my “late plate,” what the sorority chef calls the meal set aside if we miss a mealtime at the house. I live in my sorority on campus and we have a chef who makes all our lunches and dinners which means I don’t have variety. He makes one entree and you learn to like it or spend more money on food. Let’s just say I’m very excited to make my own meals this summer.

CIMG2508

Today’s lunch was grilled cheese and fresh fruit. Tomato soup was also served, but that was a little messy to include in the late plate. Plus, I don’t like it.

I ate a snack a few hours later before my art history class (turned in the paper! yay!).

CIMG2517

I cut up the aforementioned apple into slices and warmed it up in the microwave for 40 seconds. I sprinkled some Back to Nature Ginger Roasted Almond with Flax Seed Granola to Go that I excidently found in our kitchen’s snack drawer today. Mmmm….this tasted like baked apple pie! All that was missing was some fruit caramel dip.

I also popped two of these babies in my mouth.

CIMG2513

One’s trying to escape! Okay, so I know these probably don’t do anything for me, but my freshman year roommate (and best friend) had a weird obsession with them and I buy them part out of nostalgia and part because they taste good. It says I get 100% of my Vitamin D! I can’t resist that.

After class, my friend and fellow sorority sister came over to eat dinner at the house with me. She’s actually my future roommate for next year (ahhh so many different roommates!). I didn’t take a picture of dinner because I thought it might be weird to do in front of everyone in my house. It was roast beef or chicken (but the chicken was gone quickly) with steamed mixed vegetables, mashed potatoes and apple pie for dessert (real apple pie!). Nothing too crazy.

The boyfriend came over after the friend left and we hung out and did some work. My late night snack was a Kashi Honey Almond Flax bar and a banana from the fridge.What can I say, I like my apples hot and my bananas cold!

CIMG2520

I’m off to bed, even though my suitcase is staring at me waiting to be unpacked. I’m terrible at doing that. Hope you all have a wonderful Wednesday!

8 responses to “A Fruit-Full Day

  1. Ha I take those same gummy vitamins! I have such a hard time stomaching the ones in pill form so I have to resort to the little kid version…. But I have no problem taking them everyday as they are essentially candy (this morning I had three)

  2. Im glad that you are loving the blogging community as much as I am. Its great isnt it?!

    Breakfast is totally my favorite meal of the day too. And teaching during the week def. turns me into a senior citizen eating wise too. Then on the weekend its just all messed up too. but what can ya do?! haha.

    Glad your first day of classes went well! I have time management issues too, dont worry about it 🙂

    Hope your having a wonderful day today dear! ❤

  3. I’m considering getting some of those gummy vites and the calcium ones as well! 🙂

  4. Ah late plates! It’s nice to “meet” a fellow blogger who also does the sorority house thing. I’m moving into mine in August, and am sooo curious as to how my meals will go!

    Breakfast is most definitely my favorite meal, I just love everything about it 🙂

  5. oh my god, your late plate description is EXACTLY what my life was like for the past three years, right down to the grilled cheese and tomato soup (we had it every monday, no joke!) what sorority are you in, if you dont mind me asking?! =)

    glad the first day went well and you’re loving the blogging community as well! so glad you’re here!

  6. Thank YOU for having such a lovely blog – I realy like it a lot and I enjoy reading it. Isn’t it amazing not only to read blogs, but to be able to post on your own too?! 🙂

    Oh my gosh GUMMY VITES! I love those little babies! Ahhh they apparently have sour one’s now too 😛 how exciting is that?! Haha! I definitely prefer my apples hot & banana’s cold too..especially when the apples are in a pie…and the bananas are paired with something peanut buttery 😉

    Melted nanners are excellent in oatmeal, though!

    I hope you have a lovely day!

    Love,
    Meg

  7. Hey girl!! I finally saw your blog on someone else’s page and assumed it must be the this lovely girl who has been commenting on mine lately…and it was!

    I’m actually moving into my sorority house next year and I’ll have to deal with the live-in chef meals everyday too! I’m nervous that i’ll get sick of the rotations, but i’ll just have to store a few wraps in the fridge and have my own peanut butter on hand! haha, I’ll survive!

  8. LOVE the apple n granola snack!!
    wowza– they really do have u eatin early over there! sometimes i dont even eat brekbrek before 11!! hehe 🙂

    so glad you are lovin the blog community!!!!

Leave a Reply

