My Summerizations on Food

Sorry for the long break between posts! I’m in the middle of finals right now, and I’m looking forward to finishing them on Tuesday and then moving into my summer apartment in a week and a half. Once I finish this quarter, I plan to post more frequently.

On that note, I thought I would take a study break and explain myself a little bit, in terms of food.

My Food History
I grew up with a mom who cooked dinners for the family each night, but they were in no way gourmet. While my mom made good food, we had the standard rotation of meals for the entire 18 years I lived at home: lots of steaks cooked well done, frozen pizzas, spaghetti, roasted chicken. My mom eats food because she has to, and she doesn’t particularly enjoy it in the same manner I do.

I also grew up very active. I played competitive volleyball until I was 16 years old. Until the age of 18, I never watched what I ate. I had a fast metabolism, and I didn’t want to be “that girl” that only drank diet soda, ordered salads at restaurants and cut out carbs. So I ate whatever I wanted, whenever I wanted.

Once I got to college, I spent my freshman year going back for seconds in the dining halls, eating dessert multiple times in the day, drinking more and eating a lot of fourth meals late at night. These eating habits combined with no exercise led to the typical “Freshman 15” weight gain.

I went home for the summer after freshman year and joined a gym. Thanks to a scheduled summer internship and a lack of friends who came home for the summer, I spent 6 out of 7 days at the gym on the ET, swimming laps in the pool and lifting weights.

My sister, who is my best friend and perpetual role model, got me on her health kick and educated me on what foods really are healthy. No longer a fool for packaging, I started eating more organic, natural foods with an emphasis on whole grains and a de-emphasis on HFCS and partially hydrogenated oils. I never weighed myself when I returned home for the summer, but I estimate that I lost about 15 pounds and returned to my pre-college size after three months of working out and eating right. This past sophomore year, I’ve stayed about the same weight.

I don’t have the best pictures of me documenting before and after (because I don’t take too many pictures), but on the left is me in May 2008 and the right is me in November 2008.

beforeandafter

My Food Philosophy

  • I eat natural foods when I can, and I often try to chose foods without too many chemicals in the ingredients list.
  • I emphasize portion control when eating. It’s all about moderation.
  • I get more sleep, and I maintain a more scheduled eating pattern to keep my metabolism going strong.
  • I eat dessert everyday, because it’s my favorite course.
  • I splurge on holidays.
  • I don’t count calories, but I do keep a vague number in my head throughout the day.
  • I stop myself from overeating by asking myself am I only eating because I’m bored? I also think about the taste of the food before, and if I really need to eat it. If I decide I want to, I do! I don’t restrict.
  • I think of food in terms of fuel for my body, but I also don’t like to label food as bad and good. There are some foods that I eat because I enjoy them, even though they don’t offer very much nutritional value for my body.

My Favorite Food

froyoFrozen yogurt

pearFruit (pears are my favorite)

peanut_butterPeanut Butter

PumpkinPiePancakesPancakes

pouring-milk-on-cerealCereal

carrot-cake2Carrot cake

bagel2Bagels

sweet-potatoeSweet potatoes

pizzaPizza

25 responses to “My Summerizations on Food

  1. You have really pretty hair!

    Good luck on finals!

  2. I loved this post and i love your eating philosophy! Good luck with finals!

  3. Oh my gosh, seriously you sound just like me with your history of foods. My mom always cooked that kind of food growing up, and still does to this day. Thanks GOD I am out of the house and cooking my own food. I have a little sister and I HOPE that I can be a role model for healthy eating to her just like your sister was to you.

    Oh yeah, and all your favortie foods?! Identical to mine. We are food twins, for sure! haha.

    Hope your having a great day dear ❀

  4. Great thoughts on food, and congrats on finding a healthy balance that has worked for you!!

    Those are some of my favorite foods too, mm pears and peanut butter! Not together, but well, maybe…

  5. Love your food philosophy! You seem to have found such a great balance between food, happiness and fitness! πŸ™‚

    Good luck getting through those finals girl, can’t wait to see what fro yo you get yourself into as the summer goes on! I just had the BEST fro yo combo last night…strawberry, peanutbutter and vanilla w/ chocolate chips!

  6. I LOVE your little history with food there – we are so much alike! I definitely gained the freshman 15, or something like it, but I got a little TOO obsessed when trying to shed it all off, and ended up losing too much…oops πŸ˜›

    But I love your healthy lifestyle, it’s extremely motivating, and it feels great to fuel our bodies with natural and non-processed junk, I totally agree.

    And oh goodness – froyo and sweet potatos. Peanut butter…pancakes?! You got it down pretty well girl. Haha!

    Best of luck with the rest of your finals!

    Love,
    Meg

  7. homegirlcaneat

    Yo darling I’m so happy you found my blog! I loved this tidbit about your food past life. You look gorgeous in BOTH pictures!

    ANNNDDD..we basically are food twins. Froyo, sweet potatoes, pancakes, CARROT CAKE, pb!! You my girrrlll!!

  8. We have a lot of the same food philosophies! Mmm frozen yogurt (or any yogurt for the matter!) and bagels are pretty much my new obsession lol. ❀

  9. girl I love your blog!! Just like you I am OBSESSED with frozen yogurt. TCBY Peanut butter is my favoriteeeeee ever ahh! Now you’ve got me doggy droolin! lol ;]
    I will definitely be followin’ your blog. You have great taste in yummy food πŸ™‚

  10. hey girl. thanks for sharing your story πŸ™‚

    we have LOTS of favorite foods– bagels, pizza, CARROT CAKE! SWEET TATERS! ahh love it! xoxo

  11. Sounds like we share some of the same foods! Sweet potatoes and PB, mmm!

    It was interesting to hear where you come from in terms of food background, too. Thanks for sharing your food philosophy!

  12. i absolutely loved this post! you look great and have such a healthy, well-rounded eating philosophy — really inspirational to me! love me some froyo and sweet potatoes too =)

    have a fabulous friday!

  13. i used to be addicited to GSN and there old game shows too! they are awesome! hahah have a great day

  14. strivingforbalance

    hey thanks for the comment! .. and I am so glad you did comment because I now found your awesome blog! Def adding you to my blogroll so i can read more!!

    http://strivingforbalance.wordpress.com/

  15. angiesappetite

    Great food philosophies!

    Just found your blog! I’ll keep reading!

  16. girl, you’re my soul sister. Really. I LOVE your food philosphies, and we’ll be VERY happy eating together because we love all the same stuff! pancakes, sweet potatoes, froyo, bagels esp! love the carbs!

  17. mmmmm your fav foods are good ones!!

  18. Yes for a fabulous food philosophy! Glad you are finding balance. We share many favorite foods πŸ˜€

  19. merittothecarrot

    I really love your philosophy. You found an awesome equilibrium! Plus, your fav. foods are some of the best! sweet taters= love.

    I really like your blog!
    -Sam

  20. Great Post! I LOVE alllllll of your favorite foods! Then again, how coul you go wrong with froyo, pizza and sweet potatoes?! πŸ˜‰

  21. Ahh, Amanda! I didn’t know you had started a blog – that is so cool! I can’t wait to read it this summer. Good luck with finals πŸ™‚ I just heard from Ashley that she is coming to visit. I can’t wait to meet both of you! Also, if you’re ever around campus these next few weeks, let me know if you’d like to meet up just to say hi!

    I love your “summerizations” on food, too! I sympathize with the dining hall – I used to live off of multiple trips to the cereal (as in, Cinnamon Toast Crunch and Lucky Charms!) and cookie bars at Hinman freshman and sophomore year…I gotta say, I kinda miss it, but not really the “after effect” that came with it!

  22. The Novice Berker

    Thank you so much for your comment! You’re totally gorgeous, girlie! And our food philosophies and fave eats definitely agree. πŸ˜‰

  23. Can’t go wrong with peanut butter πŸ™‚

  24. Man, that freshman 15…it gets to us all, huh? Congrats on getting it off and being healthy. Sounds like you have a great big sister πŸ™‚ to help you. I’m looking forward to reading your blog and seeing where the rest of college takes you.

  25. Love your blog! You have a great philosophy on food! Thanks for the comment on my blog! πŸ™‚ I added you to my reader!

Leave a Reply

