Housewarming: The Inaugural Meals

I swear I’m an adult…even when my lunch says otherwise. Among the three different grocery stores my mom and I ventured to on Monday, only one of them had Flat-Out Wraps. And they only had the kids’ version–which means these things are TINY! Good thing I love anything miniature.

CIMG2656

It’s hard to tell from my close-up pic, but I promise you these babies couldn’t ride on any roller coaster rides, if you know what I’m saying. (They’re too small…too much of a stretch?)  They were hard to wrap, but it was nice to have two different wraps for lunch. That way, I didn’t have to choose between my egg white/Swiss wrap and my hummus/Swiss wrap. Paired with some cherry tomatoes and nanners with cinnamon, I gobbled down that food with a smile on my face. My mom was amused by my love for this lunch. And for this snack:

CIMG2657

Vanilla yogurt with Bear Naked granola, dark chocolate chips and some strawberries. Really a dessert snack, if you will.

After my grocery haul on Monday, I had no desire to go out to dinner anytime soon. Why go out and pay for dinner when you have so much delicious food at home? My parents weren’t as inspired to get cooking in my kitchen. So, we had our goodbye meal at my favorite Mexican restaurant, That Little Mexican Café.

CIMG2662

I was debating between the Veggie Gorditas and the Mahi-Mahi Tacos. Also in the running? Flautas, but I had those the last time I went. It’s hard to turn down sweet potato tortillas, though.

CIMG2664

I went with the Gorditas and was very glad I did. I tried to convince my mom to get the Flautas, but my parents both got burritos. They stick with what they know they like.

CIMG2666

When I came home, I tried a Banana Baby.

CIMG2674

These are SO good. Run out and get these right now. The milk chocolate layer is so thick and the banana tastes amazing with it. Why eat a banana popsicle when you can eat the real thing on a stick covered with chocolate?

The parents left me at 5:45 in the morning. They originally planned on 7 a.m., but apparently my neighbors–who are around my age–were making too much noise and they couldn’t sleep anyway. I hugged them goodbye and instantly fell back asleep until 8. I got out of bed and knew I was craving some Kashi blueberry waffles.

CIMG2675

One of them had TJ’s Organic Superfruit spread, which is a blend of Morello Cherry, Red Grape, Blueberry and Pomegranate. This stuff tastes delicious and is full of antioxidants. The other waffle had a spread of Earth Balance PB. I haven’t had creamy regular PB from the cabinet in forever; I’m used to crunchy from the fridge. It’s nice to go back to the classic PB I had as a kid. Plus, one of the ingredients is agave, so it’s a sweeter natural PB.

One of my favorite places to get a quick, inexpensive lunch is Einstein Bros. Bagels for their Honey Whole Wheat bagel with strawberry schmear. Pair that with an Americano and I am one satisfied girl.

CIMG2558

Now, I can recreate it at home! I’ve been looking forever for Rudi’s Honey Sweet Bagels at all the local grocery stores, but I haven’t had any luck. No worries, I just bought TJ’s Whole Wheat Bagels and slathered some whipped mixed berry cream cheese on each half. I had another nanner for lunch today because they were the fruit ripening the fastest. I drizzled some vanilla yogurt over the slices and ate it with my fingers. Less clean-up when you don’t use utensils! 😛

CIMG2688

The boyfriend came over and surprised me with housewarming flowers! Look how pretty!

CIMG2694-be

He knows how to make me happy. 🙂 Together, we made dinner based on this recipe for Turkey Sausage & Arugula Pasta. It was a pretty simple recipe, and we followed it for the most part except we halved it and used chicken apple sausage instead of turkey.

CIMG2689

It could have used more cheese, but it was a simple and satisfying meal.

After dinner, the boyfriend surprised me by giving me $40 to World Market to get more things to cook and bake with. I was very excited about this, as you may imagine, and we couldn’t wait to go pick out more things for my kitchen. We ended up getting a big and medium size metal bowl, a wooden spoon and 6 more utensils. The girl whose apartment I’m subletting uses chopsticks, so she only has one fork.

I got a lot of questions about where you can get the chocolate-chip cookie dough from the last post. Click here for the brand’s website, and you can enter your zip code in the buy locally box to see what places sell the PB near you. Or, just order online if there’s nowhere nearby! I would recommend the Raspberry White Chocolate flavor. It’s my favorite. 🙂

25 responses to “Housewarming: The Inaugural Meals

  1. omg!! mahi mahi tacos? sounds SOOO good! and please tell me where you purchased those chocolate bananas!!! i’m drooling!!!

    beautiful flowers from the bf! dont you love when guys are sweet? 🙂

  2. rediscoveringlauren

    lunch looks delicious 🙂 i like the idea of 2 mini wraps with differnt fillings!!
    aww such pretty flowers, the boyfriend sounds sweet!
    chocolate covered bananas? wow, i need ti get my hands on some of them 🙂

  3. SWEET POTATO TORTILLAS!? I’m a sweet potato freak, that sounds amazing.

  4. Clearly your boyfriend knows you well. A World Market gift certificate is a great idea!

  5. What a sweet gift from the boyfriend,can’t wait to see all the goodies that you pick out with that.

    I loved the first part about the mini flat outs, I feel like most of the time my meals seem a little “kiddish”, but who doesnt love acting (and eating) like a kid from time to time…hello pb&j! haha

    Hope your having a great day dear! <333

  6. Congrats on the move and getting all settled!!!! I can understand why you would want to get flautas when they are made with SWEET POTATO tortillas. mmm that sounds so good!!!

  7. sweet potato tortillas? *falls on floor* sign me up! Bear naked granola, hummus + cheese wraps…seems we are on the same path! I can’t get to TJ’s but those banana pops look great- might need to experiment in my kitchen this weekend!

    glad you are all moved in- hope all goes well with settling in 😀

  8. the flowers are so pretty.

    sweet potato tortillas! i wouldnt be able to resist

  9. Aw the baby flat outs! That way you can have the best of both worlds 🙂

    That yogurt combination sounds 100% delectable!! YUM! Sweet potato tortillas? Genius!

  10. Your mini wraps look so good!

    I’ve never heard of banana babies, but I’m sure I would love them because of the banana/choc combo.

    Aww, cute flowers from the boy!

  11. yum that mexican food looks devine — favorite type of food ever hands down!

    love those banana chocolate things — where did you find them I need some NOW!

    ❤ your gorgeous flowers girl!

  12. Amazing gifts! Flowers and WF gift card?! That’s so sweet!!

    Your dessert snack looks perfect 🙂 I want to re-create something like that for sure!

    Have a great day!

  13. What a sweet boyfriend, those flowers are gorgeous! And $40 to grab some cooking material?! Hell yeah!

    I love mini-things too! But I’ve never seen the Flat Out wraps that small! I’ll have to keep my eyes peeled for them! You lunch and snacks look awesome, as usual.

    And oh my goodness, where did you find those Banana Babies?! Mustttt find themmm!

    Love,
    Meg

  14. strivingforbalance

    what a sweet treat those banana babies are! Where did you find them!?

    http://strivingforbalance.wordpress.com/

  15. I didn’t know about the Trader Joe’s superfruit spread. I def gotta find that at mine! And World Market=amazing. They have great mixes, dips and sugar free syrups there too for coffees, baking, etc. But i better decoring the house with their stuff is more fun!! So jealous you got your own place!!

  16. Thanks for the website link to that peanut butter! I just looked at it and it has a TON of heavenly kinds…uh oh, I can totally see myself getting in trouble with those, haha.

    Your wraps looks fantastic!! I need to make some of those tomorrow! 😀

    Pretty flowers, what a good boyfriend. 🙂

  17. That chocolate banana looks awesome! where did you buy it at?

  18. merittothecarrot

    WoW. that’s all I have to say about the food featured in your post.
    Your boyfriend is so sweet, those flowers are beautiful!

  19. Sweet potato tortillas sound like my dream come true – where is this joint – is it in Chicago???

  20. Sweet potato tortillas sound like my dream come true – where is this joint – is it in Chicago??

  21. holy moly i LOVE all of your eats 🙂
    love love love the mini wraps!! haha and those flowers are gorgeous!

  22. Those chocolate banana popsicles look amazing! Those flowers from the boyfriend are so sweet! ❤

  23. Ok, so that dessert snack looks delicioussss….the chocolate-covered bananas sound amazing, your kid wraps are adorable and the mexican meal sounds great!!! I’m suchhh a mexican-food girl. Give me chips & salsa any day!

    I actually had mexican food last night, nachossss and tamales…yum!

  24. angiesappetite

    Your mexican meal looks fantastic….and the banana babies look great! I’ve never seen those before….thanks for sharing!

  25. OMG! I have seen those chocolate covered bananas at HEB over and over again and they always spark ?s in my mind. Now i know that they are worth it! 😀

    MMMM! Mexican food is yummmmmy!

    Oh and you can get those yummy cookies on my blog here: http://www.pennyslowfatdesserts.com/
    Seriously, I am only on my second cookie (See today’s post) and they are so soft and big that I am hooked! yum!

Leave a Reply

